Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Yes another what colour post

Discussion in 'Cat Breeding' started by Fendi, Feb 14, 2021.

1. Fendi

Fendi PetForums Junior

Hi as you may know I’m still new to breeding. I have a wonderful breeder/mentor who is guiding me. We spoke about colours and I honestly got a thumping headache trying to comprehend it :(

I was chatting with another breeder regarding a male stud that is golden black tipped (chinchilla) who advised me that to get any golden Brits kittens BOTH parents need to be golden. I felt like she was trying to confuse me. I was quite upfront with her and mentioned that I still get confused about colourings & things like. agouti and she replied “what’s agouti?”. anyway long story short is she correct about only 2 golden brits can have golden kittens bc from my research I didn’t think it was as simple as that. But hey, I’m only new so what would I know lol :Joyful

the good news my beautiful baby is with my breeder (and her champion stud boy) this week. Fingers crossed it goes well. I’m really nervous for her, miss her terribly and I’m scared it might not go well bc it’s her very first mating.

2. QOTN

QOTN PetForums VIP