Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Yeast

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by musclepug, Dec 27, 2019.

1. musclepug

musclepug PetForums Newbie

Hi everyone I am new to the forums.

I have been reseatching Yeast on dogs for about two months now. My dog (pug) has been suffering from red hot spots of yeast for a couple of months after antibiotics at the vet. It was the first time he had ever had any antibiotics and the first experience I had had with them also, so I never knew what they do to your dogs immune system.

So since these jabs, he has been suffering from yeast infections, it started in his armpit, base of tail and sometimes on his chest. After lots of reaseach, I applied coconut oil to the areas and they dissapear within a few hours to a day, magic! But, this didnt solve what was going on inside of him. So I switched from kibble to a natural diet, so he has chicken, and green beans, thats it, mornining and night, no other treats, nothing. However after doing this for two weeks he still is getting new areas of infection?

I have noticed that when bathing him, and if he doesnt dry too quick and an area stays damp for too long, the following day, in those areas his skin is bright red and looks sore. So I then apply the coconut oil and then it goes again.

I have tried apple cider vinegar also, however being this is mixed with water, its had mixed results, as the water content kinda made it worse in some cases.

What is going on? I really am avoiding going to the vet as I dont want more problems. How long will it be before his system is back to normal or can even get wet again, its like a gremlin thing haha, whereby if his feet get wet from walks they are red.