Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

wobbly canary -advice please!

Discussion in 'Bird Health and Nutrition' started by Phoenix24, Jul 25, 2013.

1. Phoenix24

Phoenix24 PetForums Senior

Hi all,

So I took pity on a canary that had been sat alone in a pet shop cage for over a year and took him home (for free, I might add) - and its quite plain that being in that place for so long has had a bad effect on him.

He stopped singing after he moulted once, they said. I have read that improper nutrition is probably why?

He is missing part of one of his back toes, which no doubt is not helping the balance issues, but he seems a bit weak overall - didn't even fly the first day, just sat huddled on the floor of the cage or in the food bowl (eating fine, probably too much!).

I have no experience of canaries I will admit, so what do fellow canary keepers suggest to give him to help him get back to full health? I have EMP egg food and a variety of vitamin and probiotic supplements at my disposal, but what about other foods? I have read that broccoli and cabbage and apple are good... anything else?

Poor little thing. He did get livelier when I played him some canary song, alas he also tripped over his bad foot and was on his back struggling to get up for a few seconds :(

2. poohdog

poohdog PetForums VIP

They love apple and broccoli...looks like you're doing all the right things...just keep it warm and hope for an improvement.
    It will adjust to any missing toes.Keep the perches low so it doesn't have far to fall if it loses balance.

3. Phoenix24

Thanks poohdog. Question: when he gets on his feet, will he be able to go in the same cage as the zebs, or will they attack him? (or vice versa!)

4. poohdog

poohdog PetForums VIP

Depends on the birds and size of cage.No set rules there,it's down to the individual birds.

5. kodakkuki

kodakkuki PetForums VIP