Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Why is our dog biting our other dogs testicles?

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by MrsMiric, Oct 15, 2019.

1. MrsMiric

MrsMiric PetForums Newbie

Hi there, newbie here looking for advice.
    We have a 3 year old lab cross, his name is Dudley, who is the gentlest soul, very non-aggressive or confrontational. We also have a 7 month old pug male named AJ. He’s been raised in our house from birth so known us & Dudley’s scent from birth. First introductions were made at 6 weeks. They’ve always been very happy together, enjoy gentle play, in which Dudley lays down to play and it’s never escalated into humping or over excitement. But this last month AJ has taken to really snapping at Dudley’s testicles, unprovoked. It’s making them very red and sore, making Dudley yelp, yet AJ just goes for a second bite & isn’t reading the cue that it’s too painful. We tell AJ no, firmly, and his ears go back like he knows it’s wrong. He’s then sent to his bed for time out. But this doesn’t seem to be putting him off. If anything it is getting worse. Tonight Dudley approached me when I entered the room and AJ latched on to his testicles from behind. We instantly corrected the behaviour but I’m kind of at a loss as to why the corrections aren’t working. Any advice would be appreciated? I don’t want to have to get Dudley ‘done’ because of AJ.

2. kittih

kittih PetForums VIP

I think the first thing is to take Dudley for a vet check and explain AJs behaviour. Animals can sense if things are not quite right and can often pay attention to or attack another that doesn't smell quite right. It may be something minor like perhaps an infection or even anal gland issues that is prompting the behaviour. Is Dudley paying unusual attention to his own testicles too ?

#2 kittih, Oct 16, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2019