Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

What's the difference between and abcess and a tumour?

Discussion in 'Rodents' started by polishrose, Aug 25, 2013.

1. polishrose

polishrose PetForums VIP

I mean how can I tell which is which?One of my daughter's mice has a lump on the side of her neck-about the size of a malteser and it wasn't there 2 days ago-it looks like it has a shiny blister on the top so I'm leaning towards it being an abcess or I think possible the cat may have caught her through the bars with a claw(she is banned from there now).Can I do anything at home?She is running around as normal and eating and drinking and playing and hasn't lost any weight.I have hibiscrub at home and a tiny bit of baytril left.I tried to have a feel of it but she's so quick and wriggly and I was scared of hurting her.

2. Lurcherlad

Lurcherlad PetForums VIP

I'm no expert, but if there is no sign of a wound, I doubt it is an abscess.

I know rats are very susceptible to tumours, both benign and malignant (one of mine had one surgically removed, but I wish I hadn't put her through the op, because another one grew quite quickly afterward.)

I would get it checked by a vet, but depending on the age of the mouse I would probably leave it be if it is diagnosed as a tumour.

3. Lil Miss

Lil Miss PetForums VIP

abscess' are liquid filled (puss) lumps which are essentially an infection, i find you can generally smell abscess, before they burst if you sniff the area really close, but then again im very sensative to the smell of them lol, tumors are harder.

4. kodakkuki

kodakkuki PetForums VIP

Gideon had an abcess a while back that had no visable marks but a Huge lump- i naturally thought tumor, so went to the vets and told them that. her reply was, 'so we're expecting tumor but hoping for puss?' and she left the room with him to go and poke at it a bit...