Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

what litter?

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by merothe, Jun 5, 2010.

1. merothe

merothe PetForums Senior

I am still learning about the world of cat litter! Initially i bought a big bag of catsan. My main issue is how it tracks all over the flat but also I think clumping is supposed to last longer/smell less? So I have bought some pets at home clumping clay litter.

I understand the worlds best and other pricey litters are very good. But I am on a budget so really is there a massive difference between the cheaper litters? The pets at home clumping litter is £1.99 per 5kg and the 'ultra' clumping is £4.49 for 5kg. Does the 'ultra' make that much difference :confused:

Food and vets cost enough and i figure since it doesn't affect their health a cheaper litter would be good!

Thanks,

2. HollyM

HollyM PetForums VIP

Clumping cat litter, when used, clumps together but disintegrates when you try to lift it out, at times. Ultra clumping litter forms hard ball type shapes when used and is therefore easier to lift out and doesn't attach itself to the bottom of the tray. Also the grains are smaller so it isn't as painful when attached to a cats pads. I would say also that you don't need to use as much of the the ultra as because it is easier to remove the clumps you don't have to throw as much of it away. So yes it is more expensive but lasts longer. A 5 litre bag lasts roughly 4-6 weeks. Hope that helps.

3. sequeena

sequeena PetForums VIP

I used to use wood pellets from P@H which are great but am currently working my way through 40 litres of Bob Martin's antibacterial litter (my OH brought the sacks home)

I am pondering on using sand. I've seen 15kg sacks of the play sand for kids in argos for £2.99 :eek: That would last me ages! I wonder if it's worth it though and would it actually work?