UK Pet Forums Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. My GR is 14 months and is not raw fed but I would like her to have some bones to chomp on during the day. Is there anything specific which would be the best type of bone for her or does it not really matter?

I'd be really grateful for any advice as I'm a complete novice at all of this!

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
I have never specified with my butcher, he just gives me something! He cuts them in half too as I told him how small Betty was. Last bones we got were lamb bones- not sure where from. Betty loved them, it had a knuckle on the end (but not a massive one- think perhaps it went into shoulder socket) loads of yummy meat on and then when she couldn't (or couldn't be bothered) to munch through the actual bone part, she spent about an hour sucking the jelly marrow out of the middle!

·
Registered
1,012 Posts
For my greyhound, I used to ask for ribs of mainly lamb. Lamb seems to be okay for most dogs (if your dog is okay with pork, then pork ribs are very similar) and the big ribs, the ones that aren't used for rack of ribs are waste for the butcher so they will usually hand them over for free/very small charge.

Morrisons even sell lamb ribs, about £3 is enough for a month.

G

·
The premium bones are the softer brisket bones. Beef marrow bones (the dinasour looking ones), sliced smallish, are very dangerous. If swallowed, they can block intestines.

I hate to write this. (Pet sheep). Lamb neck cut in half, or in slices, for small dogs.

·
Banned
21,573 Posts
Is this for when you're there to supervise? I wouldn't leave a dog alone with something like a bone, I'd use stuffed kongs.

If it's an extra treat where you are there to supervise, I'd suggest chicken carcasses or lamb ribs/backbone. I'd always introduce a dog to raw with chicken first, and if they're ok with that, then try lamb, which can be a bit richer and might trigger an upset tum.

·
Registered