Welcome!

Welcome to PetForums, the UK's most popular and friendly pet owners community. Please 'Sign Up' if you'd like to take part and contribute to our forum.

What age to start group lessons?

Discussion in 'Dog Agility and Flyball' started by Jess Pryce, May 30, 2016.

1. Jess Pryce

Jess Pryce PetForums Junior

Hi, i am new to the agility world but cant wait to get stuck in.

I currently have a 10m old collie pup who im very keen to do agility with. She has done all the puppy training and now goes to fun agility to have a bit of a play with tunnels and poles on the floor. We have also started 1to1 training with an agility trainer working on the basics, her ground work and preparing her for group lessons. Nothing to strenuous yet as shes still to young. (no jumps, a frames etc yet)

Shes very easily distracted but still a baby and im a little worried about starting group lessons as she just wants to play with other dogs and bark out of excitement. Im hoping some privet lessons before hand will help her to concentrate on me.

But now i have a dilemma. Do i start group lessons in June when shes still not quite 12 months. Or do i wait till september and join the later class when she will be 14 months old and hopefully a bit more mature.

I dont want to rush her, even though im very excited to start. What would be best for her?

2. Jillity

Jillity PetForums Newbie

I would join a fun class away from agility where you can teach your dog to focus on you and learn to interact with you without the excitement of jumping, or you could look for an agility foundation class in your area so that you can do some flatwork exercises and learn to work around other dogs. Once you've got the foundations in place you'll be in a good place to start agility.