Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

We met a Ridgie!

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by rottiemum, Jul 18, 2012.

1. rottiemum

rottiemum PetForums VIP

:D I was taking Baillie for her lunchtime walkies and there was a man with a dog in the distance. A big brown dog. Well, it was off lead, so I'm thinking, is this going to be ok?
    Well, the dog started to approach in a bit of a circle, the guy shouts, hey, don't you dare. The dog did not listen, so thankfully it was friendly!
    They were wagging tails and started jumping all around together. Very cute :D
    So I said to the guy, he's lovely, what kind is he? He says, Rhodesian Ridgeback. Now, I'm no expert, but there was not much of a ridge and he had white on his paws...was he maybe a cross?
    Either way, he was lovely - I do hope we see him again! :thumbup:

2. BessieDog

BessieDog PetForums VIP

Coincidence! We met a friendly Ridgie yesterday too - very large 8 year old female. No white markings, but like you, no ridge. Had to ask what it was, and the owner said a Ridgeback with no ridge!

3. dandogman

dandogman PetForums VIP

You can get them without ridges :)

Unfortunately some breeders kill the ones without ridges when they are young, which is disgusting.

4. Dogless

Dogless PetForums VIP

You do get ridgeless RRs and white paws are pretty common too.

Dandogman; did you learn that from the Pedigree Dogs Exposed Programme? From the Rhodesian Ridgeback Club of Great Britain's Code of Ethics: 3) Will agree that no healthy puppy will be culled. Puppies which may not conform to the Breed Standard should be placed in suitable homes.

5. rottiemum

rottiemum PetForums VIP

That is horrible :(

6. Smudge72

Smudge72 PetForums Newbie

We've met a few Rhodesian Ridgeback's over the last few months, generally speaking they're big daft things.