Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Wanted a small to medium sized dog...

Discussion in 'Dog Rescue and Adoption' started by Gothy Robyn, Jun 1, 2010.

1. Gothy Robyn

Gothy Robyn PetForums Newbie

I would love to adopt a small or medium sized dog. It would have a great home. My only problem is that we are on a low income as I am a student and am on benefits.

I cannot afford one hundred and fifty pounds or two hundred pounds all at once that the rescue places are looking for. I am looking into getting pet insurance which I can afford to look after my new dog should he or she gets ill. I have a small but great flat and love walking, and indeed have to walk so he or she would be the best walked dog and loved dog in the world!

I feel sad that soo many places are charging soo much and it means that I cannot adopt a lovely little dog, when I know that there are soo many out there needing a home.

If someone could help me with this I would be very happy.

If I may add: I have been brought up with various dogs, everything from doberman cross' to Jack Russells over the years and I have learned how to train dogs from my dad who has had dogs since he was sixteen! I feel that I am capable to look after and train a dog giving it, as I have said before, a great home.

#1 Gothy Robyn, Jun 1, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2010
  2. EmCHammer

EmCHammer PetForums VIP

I don't think that rescues charge alot when you think that the price of adoption covers neutering, vaccinating, microchipping and any vets fee's the dog might incur and also the cost of keeping that dog and all the other dogs safe.

You may well find that rescues may wonder if you can't save for the money for £100 adoption then what if something did come up? Most insurance has about £50+ excess that you would have to pay yourself and most ask you to pay for vet's fee's up front.