Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Waiting for biopsy.. Anxious!

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Zayna, Nov 7, 2019.

1. Zayna

Zayna PetForums VIP

I went to the docs about 6 weeks ago as I felt like I had something stuck in my throat, he said he could feel a swelling there so referred me for an ultrasound which I had last week.
    My gp called me on the same day to say that they had found something on the ultrasound and that she would refer me for a biospy.. Referral went through the next day but I can't have the biopsy until December, that's with me going to a different hospital too.
    So now despite the fact I'm a bloody nurse and normally the one telling people to chill and not worry I'm now freaking out. At the same time I'm trying to play things down so as not to worry my husband so thought I would come on here and vent my worries to you lot.
    Anyone else been in this situation? How long did you have to wait for a biopsy? A month seems too long to me but I guess if those are the waiting times there isn't much I can do.

2. Lurcherlad

Lurcherlad PetForums VIP

That’s a long time to be worrying :(

I understand though that if they suspect it’s anything sinister it’s a 2 week target so maybe that’s a good sign?

My MIL law has had the same symptoms in her throat a few years ago which was diagnosed as a benign growth on the thyroid. Because of heart issues she wasn’t offered surgery but does take thyroxine.

I know from experience though that any waiting with these things is agony.

3. Zayna

Zayna PetForums VIP

Mine has been classed as a u3 which means they don't know. U1 and 2 is definitely or likely not sinister and 4 and 5 is likely or definitely sinister.. So mine is in the middle. Still so worrying though =(