Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Visited the dog sitter again

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Nellybelly, May 9, 2010.

1. Nellybelly

Nellybelly PetForums VIP

I will be going to the UK in September to complete my last year of studies. Bella will be staying in Cyprus and my mom will be looking after her. There is one week however hen my mom has to go abroad. I will come home from the UK for that period if feasible (no assessments or deadlines), but just in case I can't make it, Bella will have to go a dog sitter - and it is breaking my heart. The whole leaving her behind is destroying me, but I've been studying for 4 years (2 years a course that didn't interest me, so I changed) and I really need to get my degree now, and there is only 1 year left.

Anyway, to cut a long story short I have been searching far and wide for the best solution for Bella for this week.

I have looked into the best boarding kennels and been unimpressed...so not an option.
    SO I have gone down the dog sitetr route.

I thought I had found someone, but after our second trial walk together I changed my mind. She doesn't have an enclosed garden, so ties the dogs outside if they want to sit outside. She has assured me that she keeps an eye one them, but i do not like the idea, however much I have tried to convince myself it is ok.
    The other thing that put me off was when we fed the dogs (apart from the fact that she fed her own dogs supermarket ***), that her own 2 dogs were getting to Bella's bowl:(
    There are dog beds in the house, but I have seen no chews or toys, although she has assured me gives her dogs chews. I am just worried if I take Bella's toys and chews her dogs will be all over Bella to take them away from her (and as Bella is very submissive she will give in).
    And one more thing that bothered me the most.