Welcome!

Welcome to PetForums, the UK's most popular and friendly pet owners community. Please 'Sign Up' if you'd like to take part and contribute to our forum.

Very new Romania Rescue - issues

Discussion in 'Dog Rescue and Adoption' started by Alison Gee, May 13, 2019.

1. Alison Gee

Alison Gee PetForums Newbie

Hi
    I'm a newbie here and a newbie to dog ownership. We have taken in a small Romanian rescue. She is about 18 months old, very affectionate little girl lap dog. She is crate trained at night already and only whimpers for 5 mins before she settles. The foster family she was living with before we adopted her had another Romanian rescue and they got on well. Since we have got her she barks and growls at other dogs when we take her for a walk. She pulls on the lead to get to them and barks and growls. We have walked her up to a couple of willing people and she has barked and growled, one dog was very submissive and went on her back and our dog just growled and went to nip. We've only had her a week so she is not trained yet. The foster carer said she was not like this when she took her out for the 3 weeks she stayed with her. Any advice what to do? We really want her to be okay with other dogs. So don't particularly just want to avoid places with dogs. How should we handle it when she does pull toward them and barks? We have signed her up for dog training but they said she needs to be okay with other dogs and at this point I'm not sure she is thanks a lot for any help

2. Linda Weasel

Linda Weasel PetForums VIP

I think you need a one to one with a good behaviourist before this escalates.

You need to know why she’s doing this before you can put anything in place to change it, and as a newbie dog owner you might be reading it all wrong.

It may be that she’s been walked with the other rescue, in her previous home, and is having trouble dealing with stuff on her own, but without a professional assessment that would be hard to say.