Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Vaccinatios

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by claire115, May 2, 2011.

1. claire115

claire115 PetForums Junior

Hi Everyone

I've been reading the forum for a while and found it a wealth of information, but this is my first time posting. I'm a bit confused and would really appreciate a little help.

I bought home my beautiful Sphynx kitten last weekend, he was 12 weeks and due for his second vaccine on the 29th of April, but as we had travel quite a way to get him, after much talking the breeder agreed to let me bring him home and trust me to get 2nd vaccination and neutering. Which of course I will.

Anyway, I took him to the vets on the 29th for 2nd vaccination, but as my vets uses a different one, the vet said we had to start again giving him the course of two vaccinations to make sure they work correctly. He gave a full check and said kitten was absolutely fine and it was perfectly ok to do this with the vaccinations.

So today I emailed the breeder with photos and just to say he was doing fine and getting on brilliantly with my other Sphynx boy.I also said what the vet had told me.
    She has now got back to me saying her vet assured the first vaccination given was compatible with any others and if they give him a 3rd vaccination it could make him ill.

The breeder is a lovely lady with loads of experience and has offered for me to get my vets to call her.

On the other hand I want to be able to trust the vet I take my babies to, I would be devestated to do anything that may make him poorly. : (

My plan is to call the vet tomorrow morning, and explain the situation, possibly put them in touch with the breeder.

So sorry for the long post but I just hoped someone may have had the same situation or some advice.

Thanks so much xx

2. hobbs2004

hobbs2004 PetForums VIP