Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Undissolved salt at the bottom!!

Discussion in 'Marine Aquarium Advice' started by M.R Drake, Feb 23, 2013.

1. M.R Drake

M.R Drake PetForums Member

Hi all!
    This is my first salt water aquarium.. I'll just skip to the point!! Not all of us like introductions :biggrin: there is salt that didn't seem to dissolve yet at the bottom of my tank.. I'm new to saltwater:eek: if this helps, it only been for a couple of hours since I poured the salt in. Do I have to wait like 24 hrs or a 2days or more for it to dissolve? Oh yeah, and there is pump in the tank to too for some sterilization, lol get it?:cornut:

2. Quinzell

Quinzell PetForums VIP

I'm sure your tank isn't stocked yet, but the best thing to do is mix the salt in a separate container. You should use a pump to mix the water and leave it aerating for at least 24 hours before adding it to the tank. The salt can take a good few hours to dissolve, so I'm sure that's just what you are seeing.

Be sure to test the salinity once it has fully dissolved :)

And welcome to the forum :D

3. M.R Drake

Yeah the tank isn't stocked yet, there no substrate in the tank yet as well!! I'm being extremely cautious with saltwater!! Most the salt in the tank have dissolved, but not completely, there is still a little salt which I will siphone it out. Ones the tank's SG is at the wanted level... I'll add the substrate!!
    This is my stock list of fish:):
    Pyjama cardinal
    Blue chromis
    Camel shrimp
    What do you think? I'm also thinking of adding a cleaner shrimp or two... And a cute common clownfish!! Wish me luck guys!

4. Quinzell

Quinzell PetForums VIP