Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Training reassurance needed please!

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by Monkeypuppy, May 9, 2021.

1. Monkeypuppy

Monkeypuppy PetForums Junior

I'm pretty new to puppy ownership and have a collie who likes to herd cars so we are working on giving him other herding outlets and training a strong settle / stay whilst keeping him away from cars so he doesn't get any practicing opportunities.

So we're doing a couple of 4/5 minute settles (not on a mat as he'd just hump it) and he has to stay lying down while we do different distractions around him - walking / running in different directions, playing with toys, throwing food etc. He gets fidgety after about 4/5 mins so we end on a high and then we play a one-on-one game like pop bubbles or simple sheepball type of game for aboit 5 minutes. Then he's usually ready for a sleep.

Just after a bit of reassurance really that this is the right thing to do.

Puppy is 8 months.

2. Twiggy

Twiggy PetForums VIP

I'm not quite sure how the 4/5 minutes settle/stay relates to car chasing? Do you mean in your garden where he can see cars through the fence? IMO 4/5 minutes is rather a long time for an 8 month old and I'm not surprised he gets fidgety to be honest. 2 minutes down stay would be more achievable at that age.
    Can you explain exactly what you do when you are out with him for a walk along a road and a car comes by?

LMH0307, Lurcherlad, Torin. and 2 others like this.
  3. Monkeypuppy