Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

tica or gccf do i need to register and what do i need

Discussion in 'Cat Breeding' started by starvin marvin, Dec 29, 2018.

1. starvin marvin

starvin marvin PetForums Newbie

hi all i'm new to this so please forgive my ignorance
    Iv'e had cats over 40 years
    recently i bought my first pedigree
    i'm unsure why they asked if i wanted breeder or home cat but at the time it seemed an obvious question
    i chose home cat
    i was given a copy of dams tica 5 gen papers and blood check, a copy of sires tica 5 gen papers and blood check
    my kittens name was not included on any of the tica papers, do i need to register him myself for showing him or if i desired in a year or 2 studding him out.
    do i need the breeders permission for this
    and lastly if tica is the american/european side of things should i go with gccf registration or stay with tica.

my reasoning for not asking the breeder simply not wanting to make a fool of myself totally

2. Tigermoon

Tigermoon PetForums VIP

You will not be able to register your kitten with gccf with the paperwork you have been given.

You have been sold a pet so he must be neutered. You can show him as a neuter if he is registered. Did you tell the breeder you wanted to show? The breeder should ideally have registered the litter so you could use the breeder slip in order to register the kitten.

3. Lula10101

Lula10101 PetForums Junior

How does it work with TICA....i.e. does the breeder register the litter and each kitten (as with the GCCF) or is the kitten registration left to the owners?

4. starvin marvin

starvin marvin PetForums Newbie