Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Things to ask a breeder?

Discussion in 'Small Animal Chat' started by iFallOffStuff, Apr 8, 2017.

1. iFallOffStuff

iFallOffStuff PetForums Newbie

I've been having conversation with a nearby hamster breeder but as it is my first time buying from a non=pet shop I'm a bit worried I may be sold an Ill or unwell hamster. I know the obvious things to look for when I get there but are there any qualifications / licenses I can ask if they have to minimise the chances of me pulling out when I get there?

2. FeelTheBern

FeelTheBern They don't like it up 'em, sir!

I'd say you would be more likely to be sold an unwell hamster if you were to go to a pet store. However I'm not saying that a "breeder" couldn't sell you an unwell specimen. Some people will call themselves a "breeder" if their hamster unintentionally fell pregnant and want to sell the pups to make a quick buck. You need to be careful that you are not dealing with this kind of person.
    Have you visited this breeder and viewed the conditions in which the hamsters are living? Is this breeder licensed by the appropriate association? The British Hamster Association website lists a number of reputable, fully licensed hamster breeders.

#2 FeelTheBern, Apr 10, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2017
  3. iFallOffStuff

Thanks, I tried looking at the BHA before but whenever I try to view the register I get an error message, the breeder calls themselves a 'hobby breeder' with no license so I'm a little bit cautious

4. FeelTheBern