Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

The reality of rescue

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by koekemakranka, Apr 12, 2011.

1. koekemakranka

koekemakranka PetForums VIP

This email came in from a manager at an animal shelter, which kind of sums up what many people working in rescue feel much of the time. Some of it may not be relevant to the US/UK/Europe and it makes for harsh reading, but it is fairly universal, I think.

A Letter from a Shelter Manager

Hate me if you want to. The truth and reality hurts. I just hope I may have changed one persons mind about breeding their dog or cat, taking their loving pet to a shelter, or buying a dog. I hope that someone will walk into my shelter and say "I saw this and it made me want to adopt". THAT WOULD MAKE IT WORTH IT

I think our society needs a huge "Wake-up" call. As a shelter manager, I am going to share a little insight with you all...a view from the inside if you will.

First off, all of you breeders/sellers should be made to work in the "back" of an animal shelter for just one day. Maybe if you saw the life drain from a few sad, lost, confused eyes, you would change your mind about breeding and selling to people you don't even know.

That puppy or kitten you just sold or gave away will most likely end up in my shelter when it's not a cute little plaything anymore. So how would you feel if you knew that there's about a 90% chance that your dog or cat will never walk alive out of the shelter it has been dumped in? Purebred or not! About 50% of all the dogs that are "owner surrenders" or "strays" that come into my shelter are purebred.

The most common excuses I hear are; "We are moving and we can't take our dog (or cat)." Really? Where are you moving to that doesn't allow pets? Did you really not enquire beforehand?