Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Tell me about owning a turtle

Discussion in 'Turtles and Tortoises' started by McKenzie, Feb 2, 2012.

1. McKenzie

McKenzie PetForums VIP

Hi,

I must admit I've never been to this part of the forum! I mainly hang out on the dog part but am hoping someone can help me.

I'm a teacher and would like to get an animal for my classroom. Lots of classrooms have fish tanks, but I was thinking of getting a turtle/some turtles, just because they're a bit more interesting than fish! It's worth noting that I live in NZ and we don't have a huge range of animals available here.

As a cat and dog owner I have absolutely NO idea about turtles at all. I wonder if someone could tell me a bit about what they are like to own, or point me in the direction of a helpful link.

The sort of thing I'm interested in is are they better alone or in pairs/groups, are they easy to care for, how often do they need to be fed (in particular would they be ok being left alone over a weekend), what sort of set-up they need etc.

Obviously I know there are a huge range of turtles available - the red eared and snake neck seem to be the most widely available here.

2. Bashney

Bashney PetForums Newbie

I have two rescue terrapins who are the size of dinner plates so I don't think they would be suitable for a class room.
    Mine live in a big indoor pond and you have too know what your doing with lighting heating water pumps etc.
    They may start off tiny but they soon grow!

3. shaz179

shaz179 PetForums Junior

I dont think there a good pet for children either.

4. Marley boy

Marley boy PetForums VIP