Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Teaching recall

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by Rhi and Cai, May 19, 2010.

1. Rhi and Cai

Rhi and Cai PetForums Junior

Hello there ^^

I have a seven month old pug puppy and I'm a bit nervous about working on his recall skills. I've tried him off the lead in the back garden but he just takes off and runs in circles like a puppy possessed! :lol:

Obviously, I can't have him doing that outside the garden for fear of cars, him not returning at all, or even, dare I say it, him being stolen.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm very new to all this and just want the best for my boy ^^

(an example of Cai in his "milgi mode" as I call it :lol:)

[​IMG]

Also, I noticed in this picture that he isn't wearing his collar. He usually is wearing it, DEFINITELY if we go out. Didn't want anyone to get the wrong idea ^^'

2. Merry Dogs

Merry Dogs PetForums Member

You could use a training lead (an extra long lead) to practise recall. You don't use the lead to actually pull the dog towards you, just to stop it wandering off. The Company of Animals/Halti one comes with instructions.

You could practise with the lead in your garden, then practise in a park/other suitable places, once he has got the hang of it.

They come in various lengths - and also various widths so you can get thinner ones for smaller dogs. (Ebay usually have some)

Love the pic - he looks a very happy, very enthusiastic boy.

3. Rhi and Cai

Thank you for the advice, Merry Dogs. I'll be sure to try that!

He's a very enthusiastic boy. I think that's the best word to describe him :lol:

4. catz4m8z

catz4m8z PetForums VIP