Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

SURVEY: Dewclaws and injuries in flyball and agility dogs

Discussion in 'Dog Agility and Flyball' started by TamsinD, Jan 24, 2020.

1. TamsinD

TamsinD PetForums Newbie

Good morning, I am a student at Sparsholt College, currently on the Access to HE course in Land-based Studies. For my industry research project, I have chosen to look into the possible link between dewclaw removal and carpal arthritis in flyball and agility dogs. I'm gathering data from owners and vets, aiming to weigh up the risk factors in removing dewclaws, versus leaving them intact and potentially sustaining tears.

I'd really appreciate some information from owners of sports dogs, and if you were able to share the questionnaire with other members of the community I'd be very grateful.

I have two questionnaires - one for owners and another for veterinary professionals. If you are a vet or vet nurse and would like to participate, please let me know and I will post the form. Thank you!

Edit: will try to add the link in a comment, the spam filter doesn't seem to like it! Alternatively, if you'd be interested in helping, emails to 19001502@stu.sparsholt.ac.uk would be much appreciated.

2. Torin.

Torin. PetForums VIP

New members are unable to post links until they've made a certain number of posts (think it might be 25?) as a spam deterrent.

SusieRainbow likes this.
  3. TamsinD

TamsinD PetForums Newbie

Ah of course, thanks. I'm a bit rusty with forums!

4. Torin.

Torin. PetForums VIP

As it's for a survey an admin like @SusieRainbow or @StormyThai might be able to help - I think they have in the past. You could try FB though as I think that's where most of the agility/ flyball people hang out (I do sports with my dog, but not those ones).

5. McKenzie

McKenzie PetForums VIP