Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Spurs Yes or No?

Discussion in 'Horse Riding and Training' started by Starlight Express, Mar 3, 2011.

1. Starlight Express

Starlight Express PetForums Member

At my lesson last night, my instructor advised me to buy a set of spurs :eek:

My horse can be increadibly lazy when schooling, taking the pi** on occasions. I have to use a lot of leg, it's exhausting after a while. He's not keen on schooling but he does try. He won't canter in the school AT ALL even with a different rider. Although he will if loose lunged.

We have done the usual, vet has seen him, he's had a sports massage, had his tack and teeth checked. All clear! So he is just a stubborn man!

But spurs, I don't want to hurt him. I have never used them before.

What do I do? Any help I'd be very grateful!

chelle.

2. Valanita

Valanita PetForums VIP

Get blunt spurs, they aren't sharp they just give you an extra 'umph', when you use your legs. Use them sparingly & carefully. It is possible to wear those & not actually use them unless you need to. Difficult to explain how on here, but your riding instructor will show you how.

I had a horse I looked after for a friend & he was incredibly nappy at certain places riding round the lanes, because he always knew the quickest way home. I tried blunt spurs & he was so surprised the first few time I used them that he was never nappy after that, because he thought I'd do it again.:)

3. Starlight Express

AHH! I have gone and done it! I went out and bought a set! Blunt ones of course. Not looking forward to using them though. I'll give them a try at my lesson tomorrow. :eek:

4. hannahdudey

hannahdudey PetForums Newbie