Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

sphynx

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by 5 dogs, Apr 7, 2011.

1. 5 dogs

5 dogs PetForums Newbie

ive wanted a sphynx for years, i have hairless cresties and skinny pigs...love anything bald! i already have a indoor neutered bengal male who is nearly 1 and my 1st ever cat so im still learning.......

i no sphynx have heart problems and only to buy from a breeder who does health tests etc but is there anything else i need to know???

would another male be better or a female? either way it will be fixed.

thanks in advance for any advice.

2. BSH

BSH PetForums Senior

I don't know anyone on here who has a Sphynx cat and I have certainly never come across a breeder of them on here. I have only ever seen a couple at cat shows so I guess they are not that common a breed here in the UK.

Have you tried searching for Sphynx breed clubs? They would probably be best placed to help you.

3. stoneandglass

stoneandglass PetForums Junior

I'm hoping to get one in the next year or so, I've been trying to read up about them but there seems to be a real lack of information.

Are you aware that they need to be bathed? Due to their lack of fur, grease builds up so you will have to wash it, clear it's ears, eyes, paws, nail beds etc.

Also, you have to make sure the house is warm enough for them. If you need a jumper on, chances are it's time to bring out the heating pad for the cat! This cat MUST be an indoor cat.

4. Ren

Ren PetForums Senior

I adore Sphynx, I'd love to have one but the OH hates them :rolleyes: Maybe we'll compromise and get a Devon Rex.

5. happypurr

happypurr PetForums Newbie

I have just reread your post and see you have chinese crested,you are so lucky,they are on my wishlist too.I think it must be the nudey gene i like!;)

6. SphynxCatBlog

SphynxCatBlog PetForums Newbie