Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Some help please

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Waterlily, Mar 15, 2017.

1. Waterlily

Waterlily Amused

Firstly ive had pet rats for years before so im not a total newb. But my dilemma is that a teeny wild rat has made its way from outside, and it has a huge slice akin to either a cat claw or knife kind of injury from its hip to under its tummy. Theres no blood but it looks like the cut goes right to an organ or something. Very strange wound. Its currently eating pasta from my hand in a glove, very tired and sore. Typing one handed lol..

I cant keep it as a pet its injured severely and I cant kill it its just not in me to do it. Wtf do i do ... he/she is about an inch long aside from the tail. should i put it outside to find its way to its nest or humanely figure out a way to end its pain.. My vet probably wont give 2 shits about a wild rat.

Advice/ideas anyone... cant add a question mark with one hand :Hungry

mods please keep this in general theres not enough people in the rodent section.

2. Argent

Argent PetForums VIP

Poor baby :( can't you tell your vet it's a skittish pet baby rat? Do you get pet agoutis there? What a dilemma to be in... :/

3. Waterlily

Waterlily Amused

she/he isnt even skittish, poor thing. I made it a bed with a towel inside a footstool so it had tunnels and food and water but it walked up the side and i put my hand there so it ddnt fall and hurt itself again, and it just climbed into my glove where its been since, seems to feel safer in my hand. Agoutis, im not sure tbh i did have two brown rescued rats before they might have been agouti.

cheekyscrip likes this.
  4. Argent

Argent PetForums VIP