Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Siskins

Discussion in 'Wildlife Gallery' started by Valanita, Jan 26, 2011.

1. Valanita

Valanita PetForums VIP

Managed to get a pic of the pair of Siskins we have in the garden at present. Such pretty little finches. We only see them in Winter & not every year.
    [​IMG]

2. Aurelia

Aurelia PetForums VIP

Lovely :thumbup:

My mum started getting them a few years ago, and two years running they actually bred in and around her garden :D Which is brilliant and went down in history with the local recorder!

Are they home made fat balls in the holder? :D

Valanita likes this.
  3. Amethyst

Amethyst PetForums VIP

They are beautiful, I don't think I've ever seen these birds before ... not sure, I'm no bird expert :rolleyes:

Lovely pic :thumbsup:

Valanita likes this.
  4. Valanita

Valanita PetForums VIP

Brilliant they are breeding in your Mums area. Here they go back up North in Spring.:thumbup:
    They are scones in that feeder, the Long-tailed Tit's, Blue Tits & Great Tits & even the Blackcaps love them. They are the cheap 33p scones from the supermarkets.:D

5. Valanita

Valanita PetForums VIP

Depends where you live, we didn't get them here for a long time. Cold Winters do help, they come further South & West. In a mild Winter they never bother to migrate this far down.

6. Malorey

Malorey PetForums Junior

They're very lovely birds. You'd think they'd come back more with all those food options! :p

7. MikeP

MikeP PetForums Newbie

I don't think I've ever seen one before either. Maybe I've mistaken them for green finches or yellow hammers in the past.

Great pic.

8. Valanita

Valanita PetForums VIP

They are much smaller birds than green or gold finches, Mike. Yellowhammers rarely come into gardens, but those do look like canaries.:)

9. MikeP

MikeP PetForums Newbie