Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Silly questions about RAW.

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by JordanRose, Oct 26, 2012.

1. JordanRose

JordanRose Master of the Whingey Cat.

Spooks isn't too fussed by wet foods, I've tried a few brands but he never eats the whole portion and it seems a waste of money :rolleyes: I'm feeding him James WellBeloved dry, but I think it'd be boring to just have dried food so am thinking of trying him with some raw meat a couple of times a week to keep him interested.

Now, how do I go about doing this? Do you just literally buy raw meat from the butchers and feed it at your discretion? Also, is there any meat to avoid (I've read that pork isn't good), and anything which would be good to start with?

I'm totally new to the whole concept of raw so any advice would be welcome :)

2. carly87

carly87 PetForums VIP

That very much depends on whether you will be feeding raw as a treat or as an integral part of his diet. If the former, then meat from the butcher will be fine. Get it freshly butchered though. The longer it sits with them, the more chance of salmonella etc developing. For that reason, I won't feed supermarket meat even as a treat.

If you plan to feed it as a core part of his diet, I'd suggest starting with something like Natural Instinct as they're complete. With mine, I just put it down and they got stuck in. One needed a little coaxing, but I just dropped chunks of it in with her normal food. Another refused to eat it for weeks, but she's a stubborn old bird. With her, I kept pretending that I was feeding the others a fabulous treat every meal time, and gradually, her greed got the better of her and she just had to try it.