Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Settling an 8 week old puppy into our house?

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by leisurely, Mar 14, 2017.

1. leisurely

leisurely PetForums Junior

Hi, I'm new to this fourm but not dog ownership. I've never had a puppy before. All my previous dogs have been rescues.
    I have a probably really stupid question. Our Bedlington Terrier enters our lives on Saturday. I think we have got everything necessary however, I was wondering if it would be worth getting a plug in to make him happy and calm or if that is pre empting a problem that may not occur.
    He will be brought down from Yorkshire to our house three hours away There are three of us in the family, I've got 10 days holiday to help him settle, my daughter is really happy about him coming and my husband is accepting of his arrival.
    So, essentially the question is. Should I buy a pheromone thing or not bother?
    Many thanks in advance

2. labradrk

labradrk PetForums VIP

No need in my opinion, a confident puppy should have no problems settling in immediately.

3. leisurely

perfect, thank you for your speedy reply. I am determined to have a happy, confident, healthy lad I have been second guessing myself.

4. labradrk

labradrk PetForums VIP

My kennel bred dog was slightly unsure coming into a house for the first time, but my house reared pups have had their feet firmly on the ground the moment they walk through the door!

5. AlexPed2393

AlexPed2393 PetForums VIP

We got ours from a kennel and she settled in easily enough, toilet training wasn't as horrendous as we envisaged

6. Lurcherlad

Lurcherlad PetForums VIP