UK Pet Forums Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

Firstly hello! I'm new to the forum...:)

Not long ago we sadly had to say goodbye to our cerebellar kitty Sooki after losing her fight with kidney disease...
She was hand reared by myself from 1 week of age being fostered from my place of work (i'm a vet nurse at local rescue shelter). Sooki arrived at the shelter as an orphan when her mum was found nearby killed in an RTA. She was covered in diarrhoea and tested positive for parvo and was on foster with me from day 1. It was a miracle in itself that a week old parvo kitten pulled through let alone one that suffered neurological damage. It took so much dedication and fight from both her & myself, learning new ways of feeding, adaptable toilet boxes, safe proofing/adapting the house etc etc. But the happiness she brought us all was worth every moment. Sadly with cerebellar, it is common that other conditions surface earlier than the norm which can cut their happy lives short. With Sooki it was her kidneys...but we all enjoyed a long 8 years full of joy that she gave to me & my other furries! And we know she left us feeling loved.
We now feel we are ready to adopt another kitty and can only think of offering another cerebellar kitten a loving home with experienced owners who would otherwise be overlooked or most commonly PTS.
I would just like to ask for everyone to keep an eye & ear out for any that may be seeking homes as we currently have a very loving & experienced one waiting :)
Such a shame there is not a site which links to disbaled cats for adoption in the UK. You know they are out there, maybe desperate to be given a chance...but the question is where? X

Thank you
Natalie x

G

·