Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Saluki lurcher behavioural issues, advice needed!

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by imogenbethany, May 14, 2017.

1. imogenbethany

imogenbethany PetForums Newbie

So I've never used a forum before but right now it's my best chance to seek some advice.
    So about this time last year my mum got a dog for the family. He is a rescue dog, and they say he's a saluki lurcher. He's fully grown but still young, possibly about 3 years old now. They don't know any of his background other than he was a stray but he is not aggressive and he's actually a very sweet dog.

At first the only issue with him was he would wee in the house when we were out during the day. Whilst we're out, he is locked in the kitchen / dining room as it is all open plan and his bed, food, water etc is all in there. The vets said it's just his bladder and it should calm down as he had recently had the snip before coming to us. But his accidents still haven't calmed down and he stops to wee at almost every tree or lamppost on walks.

Another issue is barking. At first he was so quiet, but now when we sit on the sofa, he will come in the living room and just bark at us constantly, firstly we told him off for it but then we were told to ignore him but it doesn't seem to work as he just carries on.

He is locked in the same room at night and in that room is an old big comfy chair which he sleeps on, but often at night you can just here him scratching it like he's digging for something. Eventually he stops and goes to sleep but it's very annoying and we don't know why he does it.