Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Ronnie and her hernia ( just spoke to breeder ) advise please

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by eieio, Mar 27, 2008.

1. eieio

eieio PetForums Member

Hi all sorry to be a pain , but if you have read other thread about Ronnies hernia you will know what i am on about , well just spke to breeder and insists it is just an outie belly button and that she can still have puppies if thats what i wanted ,( i dont now ) i would hate this to happen to pps that i had bred. she said half the population have outie belly buttons and that she will be fine ??????? please what do you all think , i have booked her in for a second opinion monday . :confused:

2. Jenny Olley

Jenny Olley PetForums VIP

Hi I'm no expert on hernias, but I just had a thought about your other post, are you sure you didn't just misunderstand what the vet said, it is normal to mend a puppy hernia when the dog is under anasthetic for being neutered, vets do seem to assume all dogs will be neutered, I've had vet say to me at their last injection and bring them back in six months for neutering.

3. eieio

eieio PetForums Member

hi in all honesty she is a lovely lady, ( but ) she just seems to pass it off as if it is nothing , and i feel i have paid alot of money for dog in the hope i pay for what i get so to speak (hence not getting one from back yard breeder) .

4. eieio

eieio PetForums Member

hi thanks . No the vet was adimant it was an unbilical hernia i asked him to re check which he did . and did say this dog should not be bred from as it is hereditry and she must be spayed and fixed at 6 months . i am having second opinion monday though just to make sure .

5. Tory01

Tory01 PetForums Senior

I have just got this off the net.???