UK Pet Forums Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm a relative novice at fishkeeping and previous kept a tank for 5 years without too much drama. It all went wrong after I bought some very boring looking algea eaters from Pets at Home. They had an infection and killed all my fish and died themselves. Then my wife brought a baby girl into the world and I've left the tank empty for obvious reasons.

I'd like to start up again but read a guide in an aquatics book and they recommend using laterite. I looked into it a little and read contradictory advice, so I thought I would ask someone.

I'm also wondering whether to stay with tropicals or switch to coldwater fish, but have no idea of the pros and cons. I did hear they are messier so I would need more frequent water changes. Is that true?

Aside from laterite is there any other kit you would recommend. I have the standard filter and heater that came with the jewel and an air stone.

A key element for me is ease of maintenance, as I've now got a very busy and helpful three year old.

Finally, are the filters re-usable or do I need fresh ones? The tank is dry with just gravel. I intend to empty it, wash the gravel and clean the glass inside with warm water and a new (unused) soft green washing up scourer.
Then maybe add laterite, then gravel on top, then plant it out and leave water for a few weeks. Then when I've happy with the plants, add some fish. If I stay tropical I think 12 max. If coldwater, three or four tops.
Oh and to be pro-active this time and not panic when I come home to see fish gasping at the surface because nitrate is too high, I'm going for the Seneye monitor to warn me early ;).

Any thoughts on the plan?

thanks in advance,

Mike

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Thanks Naomi. I missed the replies because I haven't had chance to login and didn't get any forum email...