Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Rescue Dog - Help

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Joelyboi, Nov 23, 2020.

1. Joelyboi

Joelyboi PetForums Newbie

Hi everyone,

I'm new to these forums.

Me and my girlfriend bought our own home last year. We both love dogs, she especially does and has grown up with them. She had her last dog since he was a puppy and he died a few years ago whilst she was at university. Naturally, she was devastated. I have some experience with dogs after we fostered our uncles dog whilst he was away for a few years.

Now that we have bought our own home and are settled (decorated), we really would like to adopt a rescue dog.

Naturally we are only going to apply for the dogs whose temperaments and requirements for where we live, but every single time we do, we never hear anything back. I can only assume that is because the demand is extremely high..

We live in the North West of England near Manchester and Liverpool in a suburban area. We live on a no through road across the road from a small primary school. We have fields across the road and a lovely park just a moment's walk away.

Does anyone have any suggestions about independent rescue dog rescue homes in the North West as I visit websites of various rescue charities and centres daily looking for any new arrivals and they just seem to get taken down straight away.

Thanks

2. tabelmabel

tabelmabel Banned

LinznMilly likes this.
  3. LinznMilly

LinznMilly Moderator
    Staff Member

tabelmabel likes this.
  4. Arny

Arny PetForums VIP

Demand is extremely high currently, coupled with the fact many are having no visitors and so standards may be held higher than they normally would (requiring you to live within a certain distance and having a vet reference) to try and get the best possible permanent homes.