Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Sign Up

Require Click for Quick Reply?

Discussion in 'Forum Technical Help and Issues' started by Viki, Jul 16, 2009.


  1. Viki

    Viki PetForums Senior

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi guys,

    Can you change 'require click for quick reply' in vbulletin to no please? I don't know about anyone else but having to click the quick reply button each time is a little bit of an annoyanceas it can be switched off.

    I only know about this from a friends forum I used to help with :)

    Just a thought,
    Viki
     
  2. tashi

    tashi PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,655
    Likes Received:
    500
    Nobody has ever complained about this the whole time the forum has been up and running :confused:
     
  3. Baby Bordie

    Baby Bordie PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5,146
    Likes Received:
    160
    I dont really understand? Where about is this? And if we did change it wht would it do? :blushing:
     
  4. Viki

    Viki PetForums Senior

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    4
    It's a setting in vBulletin, basically it means the user has to click this button [​IMG] to use the quick relpy at the bottom of the thread, if 'quick reply requires click' is set to no in the forum settings it takes out the need to click that button.

    Personally I think its a really annoying thing to have, its not like it prevents spam or anything, its completely pointless! :)

    Just trying to help from my previous forum experience
    Viki
     
  5. Dingle

    Dingle PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,427
    Likes Received:
    140
    some of us were actually asking for the quick reply button be omitted when the forum first started ;)

    Not complaining just asking...:cool:
     
  6. FREE SPIRIT

    FREE SPIRIT PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,563
    Likes Received:
    539
    Ive never used the Quick Reply button...I just click on 'Post Reply' at bottom of page. :D
     
  7. tashi

    tashi PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,655
    Likes Received:
    500
    Yep I do the same ;)
     
  8. FREE SPIRIT

    FREE SPIRIT PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,563
    Likes Received:
    539
    lol, Julie...how daft am i?....I didn't even realise it was there till i read this thread. :D
    But i do prefer the BIG post reply button...cant miss that...lol.. ;) :D
     
  9. Beagle Mafia

    Beagle Mafia Guest

    I must admit I use quick reply quite a lot as my pop up blocker sometimes prevents the normal reply option. I personally have no problem with it being there.
     
  10. Viki

    Viki PetForums Senior

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    4
    sorry i dont think i explained what i meant well enough, with this forum software (vbulletin) it's possible to turn off the setting that means you have to click on the quick reply button before being able to type in the quick reply box.

    I didnt mean to take away the quick reply box altogether! and yes I realize not everyone uses quick reply, hope that clarifies :)
     
  11. Dingle

    Dingle PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,427
    Likes Received:
    140
    i know exactly what you were referring to...;)

    being able to just type away in the box rather than hitting having to hit the button first :cool: is quicker & easier... hence quick reply :D
     
  12. Viki

    Viki PetForums Senior

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    4
    but to use quick reply you still have to click on the quick reply button on a post right? there's a way to set that to 'no' in the options that means you can just go and type in the box no need to click that button first...:cool:
     
  13. Dingle

    Dingle PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,427
    Likes Received:
    140
    I know there is...:rolleyes:

    I have been on about this very thing...:eek:

    The admin either doesn't know about or doesn't want to allow the setting...:p

    This could be because they don't want to or they don't want spammers quick replying...:cool: you tell me...:D
     
  14. Viki

    Viki PetForums Senior

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    4
    lol sorry i must be tired!! haha good to know it's not just in my imagination then :D
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice