Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

relaxing sprays

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by penfold, Jun 28, 2009.

1. penfold

penfold PetForums Newbie

Hi everyone im a newbie on here and was wondering what is best to keep a beagle puppy calm at night time as he is up at all hours in the morning, we have tried all the usual things such as radio, scented jumpers and so on but with no effect but i have heard of relaxing sprays and was wondering what one is best to use.:confused:

2. kenla210

kenla210 PetForums Senior

DAP is the one recommended by vets (cheaper from ebay though) but I have heard that Bach Rescue Remedy works well too and is much cheaper again so may be worth trying that too (boots sell it)

3. Nonnie

Nonnie PetForums VIP

How old is your pup?

4. penfold

penfold PetForums Newbie

His is 3 months old and i swear he is nocternal.:D

5. Nonnie

Nonnie PetForums VIP

Whats your feeding routine?

Do you get up during the night to let him out to the toilet?

6. penfold

penfold PetForums Newbie

he doesnt wake us for the toilet but he has improved and usually waits and goes at breakfast time, he gets fed in the morning and evening, he only starts when i go upto bed.
    I was wondering about the sprays as i have a blanket for him to sleep on and was previously used by mum for her dog who used a spray from the vets to help him sleep at night and when my pup slept on it he did not get up at all during the night starting barking and he looked so peaceful, obviously the blanket has been washed several times now and has lost its scent.

7. Nonnie

Nonnie PetForums VIP

You are feeding just twice a day? At that age he should be on atleast 3 meals.