Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

re new born piglets born monday morning

Discussion in 'Rodents' started by WENDY517, Jul 15, 2009.

1. WENDY517

WENDY517 PetForums Member

hi
    could anyone help me as i have very little knowledge on guinea pig, my female guiea pig has had three piglets on monday morning, ive seperated the male strait after the birth of piglets.
    could any one let me know how and when to clean the cage without disturbing mother and babys, how ong is it before i clean them out.,
    yours wendy517

2. Jazzy

Jazzy PetForums VIP

Guinea pigs aren't like hamsters and they are usually fine with cage cleaning and letting you handle their young - they don't eat them like many rodents do.:)

Don't forget to post some piccys of your new arrivals.;)

Also don't forget to remove any male guinea pigs from the litter when they are 3 weeks old or they could breed with their mother.

You would have been better separating the male before she had the piggies because they usually mate again right after the birth so she may be pregnant again unless you actually saw the birth and know that the mating didn't take place.

#2 Jazzy, Jul 15, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2009
  3. WENDY517

dear jazzy
    I bought a little bottle feeder for piglets
    will it be alright if i put it in the cage although the babies are suckling
    she seems to be fine the young are feeding on garden mint but I am very choosy at this stage of putting different vegetables in.
    I suppose I have to be very careful of what type of veg I introduce to them.
    yes Ive actually parted the male as soon as the female was biting away to the cord to part them she was cleaning the up and i found her chewing the cord, the male was over the other side and did not interfer with her at all.
    but I had to part him.