Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Rat newbie

Discussion in 'Rodents' started by Lou mo, Apr 24, 2017.

1. Lou mo

Lou mo PetForums Newbie

Looking for any and all advice from where to buy/adopt, make or female, best articles/books to read, best cages....want to do this right and have happy happy loved rats but I'm a rat newbie :-/

2. CRL

CRL Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! Tweak!

always get two or more rats. try finding a good breeder in your area, you may have to travel, and put your name down. i prefer boys as they are more laid back, but others prefer girls. a great cage for 2 or 3 rats is a furet plus. it can be available from pets at home. fill it with hammocks and toys. your best bet is to join rat groups, but avoid the rat fan club.

simplysardonic likes this.
  3. simplysardonic

simplysardonic Moderator
    Staff Member

Mirela Uphill and CRL like this.
  4. mrs phas

mrs phas take a chill pill and reeelaaax

of the same sex

I had mine in a liberta explorer and happily had seven boys in there, loved it as big doors for cleaning and no long drops , put loads of hammocks and hidey holes, doesnt have to be expensive, cheap fleeces from the £ shop can be used and tied around bars, lots of ropes and maybe pay out for a good rat cargo net, pringles tubes [empty] when young are great hidey holes, and can help to get them out to handle if you or they are nervous, ask at carpet shops for empty carpet roll inners for when theyre bigger
    look up the shumanite diet, nuggets give them everything but its like us eating ryvita every day, blooming boring