Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Rat Gender

Discussion in 'Rodents' started by Frooberty, Apr 21, 2011.

1. Frooberty

Frooberty PetForums Newbie

Hey guys and gals!
    Im new to the rat scene but am very keen to start caring for one or two. to start off i was wondering which gender to get. ive heard alot of things like females are more active, and males are smellier and more relaxed. but i dont know for sure! id like to hear what some real rat owners think about the gender differences and preferences so i can make a more informed decision! i also wondered about rat breeds if that is any cause for thought. and other than that, any general caring tips about how to make my rat(s) happy and friendly! :001_smile:

Sorry if this has been posted before!

2. quequeg1988

quequeg1988 PetForums Member

LOL well 1st thing is Rats dont "smell" at all, the boy's have musky scent but they don't smell LOL they'r very clean :) i have 2 boy's, i used to have 4 girl's and before that a male. girl's are smaller than boy's, my two boy's are 15 week's old and they're already the siize my girl's were at a year :)

you want a big cage, some people use parrot cages for them and build lots of shelving for them to climb or you can get special "rat" cages for them. Rat breed's on the other hand i have no idea what difference there is as temprement etc is concerned, i have had champaign, brown, black hooded, my wo boy's just now i have no idea what breed (s) they are, they're meant to be brother's lol but if a breed guide has it right they appear to be two different breed's with totally different colour pattens LOL.

My girl's never got into squabble's where as my two boy's do, they loved my cat and my boy's don't LOL so if you want very active rat's then i'd go for girl's but my boy's are active when they're out, and for most of the time when they're in their cage.