Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Ragdoll or Selkirks??

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by Prowl, Aug 25, 2013.

1. Prowl

Prowl Guest

I still can't decide between the two I have never had a pedigree before however I have had a cat with Ragdoll and I loved her personality and affectionate nature.

I love the look of Selkirks Rex and they sound quite similar to Ragdolls but I can't decide if I want to stick with what I know and know I will like or go for something a little different.

I work part time as a dog walker I may get a little busier and I may get less busy sometimes.

I plan to take some time off to bond with the new kitten.

I want to feed raw but will respect if the cat does not take to it

I want an indoor cat, a lap cat.

I will have time for grooming all though I think my mum would prefer a short haired cat all though she has said she would prefer a ragdoll only because she doesn't know any other pedigree cats well.

My only fear is getting a long haired cat that does not like to be brushed o.0

2. Aurelie

Aurelie PetForums VIP

As they are both such laid back breeds this comes solely down to personal preference. Of the two, mine would be for a Selkirk :)

I think with most long haired cats, provided you brush them from a very early age and maintain it as a positive experience you shouldn't have any problems :)

3. JordanRose

JordanRose Master of the Whingey Cat.

I would get in touch with a Selkirk breeder and see if you can visit them- explain that you may be interested in kittens in the future but not at this moment in time- they will generally allow you to go and have a good chat and meet their adult cats.