Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Questions

Discussion in 'Cat Breeding' started by Kori, Jul 29, 2009.

1. Kori

Kori PetForums Junior

Hi,

Just to make it clear, I am NOT a breeder and I don't want to be. It's just that I'm new to the whole cat forum and was browsing just out of interest at some of the posts in the breeding section. I don't understand a lot of things being said and was wondering if someone could explain to me some of the terms you use. Such as, what is an active cat register?

It would be nice to read the posts and be able to understand what people are saying.:blushing:

Kori

2. Dozymoo

Dozymoo PetForums VIP

When breeders register their pedigree cats with the GCCF (General Council of the Cat Fancy) they they are offered two options, to register on the Active register or the Non-Active register.

All breeding cats should be placed on the Active register and any cat that is sold as a pet or show neuter should be placed on the Non-Active register. Any kittens born from a cat on the Non-Active register cannot be registered and are therefore classed as moggies (from a showing / breeding point of view). This is a very basic explanation and there are some grey areas when people start talking about "reference" registers, for cats without a 'perfect' ancestry. Check out the GCCF website for more info. It's quite interesting...

This might help with some other terms you've wondered about:

Glossary of Cat Terms

xx

#2 Dozymoo, Jul 29, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2009
  3. lizward

lizward PetForums VIP

They can't be registered at all!

Liz

4. Dozymoo

Dozymoo PetForums VIP

Knew I'd be wrong! :D:D Isn't there a way they can be registered as "No Recognised Breed". I'm sure there was some discussion about that on a thread a while back, although I didn't fully understand it! ;);) xx

5. lizward

lizward PetForums VIP