Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Puppy 'Treats'

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by bluesupero, Oct 23, 2012.

1. bluesupero

bluesupero PetForums Member

My Puppy will be coming to live with us in2 weeks, shes a Border Collie and will be 8 weeks old.
    I would like some advice on food 'Treats' to give her, to aid her training, Toilet, Obedience etc....
    She is on fish 4 pups food.
    I was in pets a t home and they had lots of puppy treats from 3 months , which I must say looked really 'Unhealthy', plus she will be too young for them.
    Is the dried liver a much better option, or is there a similar fish treat on the market.
    I am new to all of this, so your help will be greatly appreciated,
    T I A
    Lol

2. CaliDog

CaliDog Greedy Mummy Bear!

I have a Border Collie pup she is 6 months old now though...

With the treats i would steer clear of the likes of bakers and pedigree they are full of nasties and will more than likely give the pup the poops stick to natural treats Fish4Dogs do some really good treats or things like little cubes of cheese or sliced cocktail sausages work great too.

As for the toilet training don't bother with puppy pads or newspaper i did and wished i didn't my carpet was ruined and it just confused her when i started to train her in the garden. Take pup out after sleep,play and food and pup will need to go throughout the night a few times for the first few weeks, I really suggest you get a crate and crate train it really helped me with toileting training, with the theory that a dog won't "dirty or wet" their beds.

For training do it in short bursts not too much as it won't be fun i do 10 min sessions every day or so ...............

Thats all i can think of for now but enjoy your pup! and we need lots of photos...........

3. leoti

leoti PetForums VIP

4. bluesupero

bluesupero PetForums Member