Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Puppy pulling on lead!

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Riosmumma, Jun 22, 2019.

1. Riosmumma

Riosmumma PetForums Newbie

Hi guys,
    My pup is 15weeks and loves charging around!
    We have started puppy classes she’s very bright and does every trick in the book! We do however have a problem with walking nicely on a lead. We have been advised to stop and wait until the lead goes loose, but this never happens! She’s desperate to run off with her big sisters.
    1- Will she just grow into walking nicely on the lead or are we going wrong?!
    2- She’s walked on an ezy harness, would it be better on a collar so we have more control? (With previous dogs we have had them on choke chains -many years ago- I know she’s in no way big enough for one of those!)

I’ve never had a puppy before so I’m a novice!
    TIA

2. Boxer123

Boxer123 PetForums VIP

Is she always walked with other dogs ? I would take her out alone and work on lead walking so she is not desperate to catch up.

Never use choke collars use positive reinforcement. I have a harness for my pup it feels more sturdy when he pulls.

3. Riosmumma

Riosmumma PetForums Newbie

I have been taking her on her own as well, she’s not a food girl either so treats don’t do the trick, have tried taking a little toy as a reward but she’s more interested in everything else!
    I’ll try to walk them separately more though Thank you!

4. tabelmabel

tabelmabel PetForums VIP

It will happen, but you need bags of patience! What breed is your puppy? Some are definitely worse than others when it comes to pulling and it can take many months of consistant training to get a dog that walks well.