UK Pet Forums Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello agony aunts & uncles!

I'm new to this whole forum-scene so please bare with me! About a month ago, we brought a lovely fox-red lab puppy into our home. Other than the normal characteristics of a puppy, i.e. chewing which came of no suprise, he has just started growling, I was just wondering what it is that makes him do this? He tends to do it when me and my partner are both eating or if I'm on the laptop etc., is he growling as he's after attention or should I be weary of this? Obviously I don't want to ignore it to find out he will actually bite! I've started to give him a 'time-out', putting him in our hallway and locking him in there until he's calmed down, is this a good idea?

Also, with regards to potty training, me and my partner decided against crate training, he currently sleeps in our kitchen and settles fine, but sometimes leaves us 'presents' for the morning, despite taking him out before he goes to bed? Any advice on what we can do to stop this?

Another question, (I promise I'll stop), my partner has started to feed the puppy scraps, i.e. CUSTARD and BAKED BEANS! I've told him to stop as I'm pretty sure it's made his growling worse, and his bum extra stinky! Does feeding him those sort of scraps impose any health issues for the pup or..?