Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Puppy’s first season

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by Duggee, Jun 30, 2020.

1. Duggee

Duggee PetForums Junior

My 8 month old lab has just come into her first season. Does anyone have any advice apart from follow her around with a cloth?! Fortunately we have hard floors, but I have no experience of this and no idea what to expect. How long does the bleeding last for and how long do we need to keep her on lead for walks?
    Also, my vet advised spaying after her first season. Do I need to wait a certain amount of time or can I book her in as soon as she’s finished... assuming my vet will operate currently?

2. Rafa

Rafa PetForums VIP

Seasons can vary from bitch to bitch, but, broadly speaking, she will likely have a blood loss for around ten days. This will then cease, but it's often fairly abruptly and then she will be in her receptive time, during which entire males will be desperate to get her and she equally keen to find a male.

That period lasts around ten days, then her season will gradually wind down over the ensuing ten days.

You should keep her onlead throughout her entire season, as a pair can mate very quickly indeed.

I would let your Vet know she is in season now, and they will book her in for three months from now.

3. Duggee

Duggee PetForums Junior

Oh brilliant, thanks! So that’s a month where we have to be cautious? I’m terrified of an unplanned litter! I’ll ring the vet tomorrow then and see what they say.

lullabydream likes this.
  4. Rafa

Rafa PetForums VIP

You do need to be very careful.

Keep her on a short lead when you walk her and try, if you can, to avoid other dogs.

An amorous dog can be surprisingly difficult to repel.

Duggee, Sarah H and lullabydream like this.
  5. lullabydream

lullabydream PetForums VIP