Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Pregnant Rescue Collie

Discussion in 'Dog Breeding' started by Moxxi, Oct 31, 2018.

1. Moxxi

Moxxi PetForums Newbie

Hello all,
    I’m very new to this and have a bit of a story to tell for background.

Sunday - A dog was dragged out of a car and left at the roadside outside of my parents’ house. I went round to see what I could do. The dog was very timid and tail was curled up through her legs to her belly, her ears were always upright and she was watching every car that went past.
    I called our local council’s dog wardens and they came out two days later - as she had disappeared and didn’t return until then. When they came round they couldn’t get anywhere near her and said to me that she was watching me and that she “wanted me”. I was sat day and night inching ever closer just to get her off the road and to safety and warmth.
    Over the next five days she came ever closer to the house and eventually came inside and ate out of the bowl we had set out for her.
    Thursday- The DWs came again and told me to continue what I was doing I.e feeding her and trying to get her inside.
    They told me they could tell she wanted to trust me as every time I went out of her eyeline she’d move so I was visible again.
    Friday - she came up to me and let me pet her and she laid down at my feet. We got her inside and placed a lead on her as per DW instructions.
    The DWs has finished for the weekend so we kept her in, I purchased a few necessities, collar, lead, bed, harness, food, bowls etc as I thought they can be donated to the rescue when the DWs come back on Monday and they would have her scent.