Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Potential First Time Rat Owner

Discussion in 'Rodents' started by Ali1874, Mar 28, 2011.

1. Ali1874

Ali1874 PetForums Newbie

Hi everyone,

My names Ali, I'm 19 and I'm from Edinburgh and obviously I'm new here! Don't have a rat (yet) but this is the main point in starting this thread.

I've been interested in getting a couple of pet rats (probably females!) for a couple of months now. I have no real pet history (rabbit, gerbil, and a hamster when I was very young so my parents did the looking after!). I think I'm a suitable rat owner because as a student I have plenty of time to play with my new pets and give them the attention they need. I've made up a care sheet of things I've considered so far from various internet sources throughout the past month or so.

Housing

Obviously the first thing I thought about was what type of cage to house my pair of rats in. I am currently stuck between the Savic Freddy 2 and a Ferplast Furet Plus Ferret and Rat Cage. Pets at Home do a good starter deal with bedding etc for £90 along with the Ferplast cage and it's a bit bigger for my pets. The Freddy 2 would have to be ordered online. If anyone has any experience with either or these cages then any advice would be fantastic! Was thinking shredded paper with no dust for the bedding. A couple of extra climbing ropes, tunnels, hammocks etc for them to play and climb in.

Food etc

This is probably a major gap in my knowledge because I'm not sure where to actually go for food. I was under the impression that a rat food mix from Pets at Home would give the bulk of the rats' needs as long as fresh fruit/veg was given each day (about 20% of the rats' diet I read). As well as this some vitamins (anyone got any reccomendations?) and a chew stick as well as some treats! Obviously have a food bowl and a water bottle that I'll change daily.