Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Possibly Velcro-ing but need advice!

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by ErinAline, Jan 23, 2019.

1. ErinAline

ErinAline PetForums Newbie

Hi,

My partner and I brought home our 11 week old French Bulldog puppy this past Friday. I am a student and therefore have the ability to work on my research from home and have been here since the moment we brought him into the house. We have him contained in the living room (as we found a mouse in our house the same day we brought him home and do not want to risk him finding a trap) however every time my partner or I try to leave the living room "pen" even if we are just 5 feet away making coffee our pup uncontrollably barks.
    We have been trying to crate train him and he goes in his crate throughout the day willingly (as long as one of us is in his 'pen' and he voluntarily brings toys and treats in there to play/eat so it doesn't appear that the crate is causing too much anxiety. As long as we keep him awake and play with him for the two hours leading up to bed time, he goes in the crate at night with relatively little whimpering however, he will wake up 2-3 hours later barking like crazy, so we let him out to go to the bathroom and usually he does and will bark for about 10 minutes after we put him back in and eventually quiets. He then wakes up around 5 am every morning and I let him out yet, he doesn't seem to go need to go to the bathroom and I cannot get him back into his crate quietly at this point. I am not overly concerned about this nighttime routine however it would nice to have him sleep a little bit later into the morning (given that it has only been about 5 days I am optimistic that this will improve, hopefully).