Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

paying towards having moggies spayed?

Discussion in 'Cat Breeding' started by donna81, Aug 12, 2009.

1. donna81

donna81 PetForums Member

hi my cats had kittens almost 4 weeks ago, im quite lucky as ive managed to find homes for all three litters, alomost all of the kittens will be staying on the same street though as they are going to my friends who are close neighbours.
    All the kittens are related as the mums are sisters.And im a bit worried that as they get older the kittens will end up getting each other pregnant.which although im no expert, im assuming isnt a good idea.
    So Ive told my friends that when the kittens are old enough i will pay half the cost of having them speyed/neutered seeing as they are helping me out by giving the kittens loving permenant homes.
    My OH thinks this is silly seeing as im not charging anything for the kittens, what should i do??

i took on my 3 cats when they were pregnant and its been hard work and scary at times. i know that once the kittens leave they will no longer be my responsibility but i do still feel slightly responsible for their welfare.And by offering to pay half towards the cost of speying/neutering it will ensure that they are all done at the earliest opportunity and it will save the babies having babies while they are too young.:confused:

2. Biawhiska

Biawhiska PetForums VIP

Up to you but why can't the new owners pay? If they can't afford to spay/neuter then why are they even having a kitten :confused:

3. Taylorbaby

Taylorbaby PetForums VIP

Not sure how much spaying is where you live but at my vets its only £29 & at the mo they are doing a deal for £20 for a cat!

Also on benefits some do it for free or help out.

Even if they were freinds Id give them a contract to spay them!

4. Faerie Queene

Faerie Queene PetForums Member