Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Opening a exotic pet boarding business?

Discussion in 'Animal Jobs & Working with Animals' started by 6TroublesomeFerrets, Jul 13, 2018.

1. 6TroublesomeFerrets

6TroublesomeFerrets PetForums Newbie

I’ve been thinking of opening my own boarding business, I love my animals and am shocked there aren’t many small pet or exotic boarding places around me, I own my own animals and have no worries with feeding animals whole prey if that are required. I was thinking of boarding some small animals to start with as let’s face it I’m lacked for space but can happily fit a few cages in, as I can always expand to accommodate the more exotic pets in the future.

I have a lot of experience with most small animals, as I own ferrets as well as rats, I don’t have much experience with keeping mice or gerbils but know enough for standard care - how much experience with each species do you think is needed?

I was thinking of charging based on the upkeep costs, or charging a certain amount to rent the cage while In care.

In the future I'd like to move somewhere bigger and run a boarding and rescue establishment. But that is a bit of a pipe dream at the moment.

2. Pads And Wags

Pads And Wags PetForums Newbie

I believe with boarding you will need to look into getting a license from your local council, on top of insurance & a DBS check.

When it comes to looking after a pet I like to have enough information for standard care and be aware of what to look out for if an animal is falling ill. In terms of pricing I would probably look at what other home boarders charge in the area and go from there :)

I would like to say though that it's great that there aren't many in your area for you as there will be a demand! Especially for the more exotic animals.

PastorRichardDavidson likes this.
  3. Once upon a gerbil (or 2)