UK Pet Forums Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
As you know, I'm new to cat companionship, and am still finding my feet. At the moment Yuki eats Nature's Menu pouches, HiLife pouches and Lily's Kitchen, with the occasional treat of cooked chicken and fish.

I'm intrigued by the raw diet, and would like to know more. I'd appreciate any advice, general guidance and links to useful resources.

I know that obviously cats eat raw in the wild, so it would be good for Yuki. My other motivation is that it would give me greater control of the provenance of the animals whose meat I'm buying. I'm vegan and animal welfare is very important to me, and while I don't like handling meat at all I'd rather do it if I could buy from local farms who practice high welfare rearing, as opposed to buying pouches that have come from goodness knows where. Some people have said how cheap the raw diet is, but I'm not sure that's apply in my case given that I'm going to be buying the highest welfare meat possible. I'll need to look into the cost effectiveness once I've learned a bit more about the best meats to feed, what amounts I'll need, etc.

Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
663 Posts
Bearing in mind that cats are quite happy to eat the stuff that most humans are not so interested in, you can get ethical raised farmed meat at good cost often from source these days.

If you can provide a varied diet with lots of wild or pastured meats then personally I don't use supplements in that situation.